Wine Ratings & Reviews

1995 Dalla Valle Cabernet Sauvignon Estate Cabernet Sauvignon

USA California North Coast Napa Oakville

Post your own rating and tasting note on this wine!


Professional Reviews

94 points Stephen Tanzer's IWC 11/1998
94 points Wine Spectator 11/1998
92 - 94 points Robert Parker's Wine Advocate 6/1997

Member Reviews


Dalla Valle Cabernet Sauvignon Estate Cabernet Sauvignon 1995
Mike P.
Mike P.

Rated  on May 24, 2008

This was flat and uninteresting. There seemed to be some v/a here as well. I had high expectations for this bottle and had heard mucj. Didn't improve, didn't collapse, just didn't

1 Toast     Toast this Review


Network Reviews

Fantastic
Score: 95 points
Drink by: 3 to 7 years
Sampled 9/28/08. Gorgeous on the nose and palate as a blend of black cherries, raspberries, blueberries and cassis with some dried herbs and licorice. All are beautifully layered, elegant and refined. The wine is at peak and on the verge of 96 points.
Posted by mxpbuy on October 3, 2008
View all reviews by mxpbuy
 
I love this wine
Score: 95 points
Drink by: 3 to 7 years
Sampled 10/06/07. This black currant, black cherry, sage, hint of spicy Oak, wine is a bit bigger and longer than the `96 and warrants an extra point for it. Like the `96 it is an elegant wine that is beautifully crafted. There was about a 1/2 teaspoon of sediment in the bottle, but the color was good and it was plenty firm enough, so that it could possibly still be in fine form on its 20th anniversary, although I`m not sure how much more it will improve given that it only took about 1/2 hour in the glass to fully open.
Posted by mxpbuy on October 8, 2007
View all reviews by mxpbuy
 
Still big fruit
Score: 94 points
Drink by: 3 to 7 years
Sampled 7/18/07. This big fruited wine of black with some red fruits on the nose also has a nice elegance about it. Extremely well balanced from start to finish with layers of black fruits, some overripe red fuits trailing, cedar, asian spice, sweet Oak, and spikes of cassis with a nice long finish. The wine is throwing off a fair amount of sediment at this point and I doubt it will last to 2020 as Parker once claimed, but I think it will last another 5 years. I`m also not sure it will get any better, so why not enjoy it now?
Posted by mxpbuy on July 19, 2007
View all reviews by mxpbuy
 
Demands your Attention
Score: 92 points
Drink by: Now to 2 years
I am a little perplexed by the 88 point review by another reviewer. One possibility is a bad bottle, the other is the format. I recently had the 95 out of a magnum along with a 95 Ch. Montelena and 95 Pahlmeyer. The DV was a big mouthful of currant, coffee and spice with firm but sweet tannins. The table was about split with 6 preferring the Pahlmeyer and 5 the DV. I still think the 99, 96, 97 and 94 (in that order) are better examples of DV but the 95 is a wine that demands your attention. The nose started slow but became perfume like, like rosehips I`d guess. I have 3 more bottles and will drink with GOOD friends.
Posted by tamba on February 20, 2006
View all reviews by tamba
 
I poured half of it down the drain.
Score: 88 points
Drink by: Now to 2 years
Imagine a wine flavored sweetart. Because that`s what this wine tasted like; very sour. I love the Maya, but I have not yet had a Dalla Valle cabernet that I was impressed by. If you could ignore the tartness this was otherwise a routine, tannic, almost sugary Napa cabernet. And, yes, I honestly did pour half of it down the drain as it was not worth finishing. It was had the same night as a 2000 Bond and a 2001 Spottswoode, and it was severely outclassed by both.

Time to drink? Never!
Posted by craskin on July 18, 2004
View all reviews by craskin
 
Search wine prices for 1995 Dalla Valle Cabernet Sauvignon Estate on WineZap
Spider Trap