Wine Ratings & Reviews

2006 Mollydooker Carnival of Love Syrah

Australia South Australia McLaren Vale

Post your own rating and tasting note on this wine!


Professional Reviews

95 points Wine Spectator 1/2007
97 points Robert Parker's Wine Advocate 1/2007

Member Reviews


Mollydooker Carnival of Love Syrah 2006
Slurp, Slurp
George M.
George M.

Rated  on Aug 29, 2008

I am not that creative or superlative, I just know what suites my taste. I opened a bottle of LOVE three days ago and for two days I realized the taste of love I have searched all my life for was finally found. Yessiree two days of bliss thanks to Sparky.

2 Toasts     Toast this Review


Mollydooker Carnival of Love Syrah 2006
Near Perfect!
Holley J.
Holley J.

Rated  on Jun 09, 2008

This wine is almost perfect in my humble opinion - even more satisfying than the 2005.  You have to love the super fruit bomb style to love this wine but if you do, you will love it! This wine packs so much flavor it's absolutely mouthwatering but not overly tannic. The best flaovr description I can give is that it tastes like opening a whole pack of starburst candies and eating them all at once.

3 Toasts     Toast this Review


Mollydooker Carnival of Love Syrah 2006
A milkshake for grownups.
Jon B.
Jon B.

Rated  on Apr 25, 2008

Popped, shaken and poured. Dark opaque purple color towards the rim. Way too much alcohol in the nose. It got in the way of all the fruit. Lots of sweet blueberries and raspberries in the nose. I also got some olive notes as well. In the mouth, full bodied, bright acidity, fine tannins. Nothing in balance (yet.)  B at this point, don't open for at least 3 years

1 Toast     Toast this Review


Network Reviews

Carnival of Love
Score: 94 points
Drink by: 3 to 7 years
Sampled 10/17/09. Another wonderful bottle of this smooth and mouthfilling elixer. Blackberries and black currant, some spice, a little vanilla Oak, herbs and a long finish. A wine everyone likes.
Posted by mxpbuy on October 19, 2009
View all reviews by mxpbuy
 
Couldn't keep my hands off it.
Score: 95 points
Drink by: 3 to 7 years
Sampled 3/28/09. Another bottle quickly consumed. Plenty of spice and over-the-top ripe black (and some red) fruits. Layered nicely, smooth and with a 30+ second finish. Just too good to put down for very long. Even the alcohol on this particular bottle seemed relatively well hidden, which is a plus.
Posted by mxpbuy on March 30, 2009
View all reviews by mxpbuy
 
A really yummy wine
Score: 95 points
Drink by: 3 to 7 years
Sampled 2/19/08. This gigantic fruit bomb is packed with black and some red fruits, sweet Oak, smoke, a little licorice, and glycerine. The fruits are almost jammy in their ripeness. The alcohol is high but not as noticable as you`d expect, except when it hits your head. It is a tough wine not to like, even if you are not a fan of most fruit bombs.
Posted by mxpbuy on February 20, 2009
View all reviews by mxpbuy
 
Not as good as the '05, but impressive
Score: 94 points
Drink by: 3 to 7 years
Sampled 10/12/08. What I liked about this vintage over the `05 is that the alcohol is more subdued. The depth of flavors might not be as great as the `05, but this fruit bomb is smooth and does have some nice complexities to it. Plum, black cherry, anise, vanilla Oak and cherry Twizzler. Long finish that coats you mouth first.
Posted by mxpbuy on October 16, 2008
View all reviews by mxpbuy
 
Search wine prices for 2006 Mollydooker Carnival of Love on WineZap
Spider Trap