Wine Ratings & Reviews

1997 Phelps, Joseph Insignia Proprietary Red Wine Proprietary Blend

USA California North Coast Napa

Post your own rating and tasting note on this wine!


Professional Reviews

100 points Robert Parker's Wine Advocate 11/2013
97 points Wine Spectator 1/2008
95 points Wine Enthusiast 11/2000
94 points Stephen Tanzer's IWC 5/2000

Member Reviews


Phelps, Joseph Insignia Proprietary Red Wine Proprietary Blend 1997
from Insignia Vertical
Mike P.
Mike P.

Rated  on May 24, 2008

Great body, with a super mouthfeel. Nice dark fruit evident. I liked the length of this one. Still from all I have recently read about this wine I feel it did not show full potential

1 Toast     Toast this Review


Phelps, Joseph Insignia Proprietary Red Wine Proprietary Blend 1997
garygooselvr
garygooselvr

Rated  on Aug 29, 2007

The color of this wine is so well balanced and full with colors of purple and blue.

There is a smell of jam. some kind of black fruit jam. and there is a spiciness to the smell an almost aisain spice smell and licorice.

1 Toast     Toast this Review


Network Reviews

Delicious now, will age for another decade!
Score: 93 points
Drink by: 8 to 12 years
Stunning - still very youthful in appearance and on the palate. The aromas and flavors are all
wrapped up, with silky, cool fruit and subtle spices. Tannins are ripe and polished, and the finish is
very elegant. Wish I had decanted, didn`t have the patience. Still has years of evolution left.
Posted by shill on April 16, 2007
View all reviews by shill
 
Showing better than expected
Score: 97 points
Drink by: 8 to 12 years
Sampled 12/17/05 in Magnum. This bottle was not decanted but its nose was opened quite a bit in a relatively short period, perhaps because the fruit is so ripe that nothing could hold it back. The color is classic Insignia - dense purple. After about an hour in the glass, the wine was showing it ultra ripe black fruits and currant with some spices, licorice and hints of vanilla/chocolate on the finish. The finish was very long and although the tannins are firm they are also sweet and supple for a really incredible balance. The layers of this wine should emerge with greater sophsitication over time, but it is still great now. It`ll be hard to hold back from consuming this wine before it starts to peak in another 10 years.
Posted by mxpbuy on December 20, 2005
View all reviews by mxpbuy
 
excellent bottle
Score: 98 points
Drink by: Now to 2 years
I opened this bottle with my husband and some friends for our 1 yr. anniversary. I must say that it was a super bottle and we all wished we had another with us.
Posted by kbpmartinez on June 14, 2005
View all reviews by kbpmartinez
 
Wonderful but still needs time
Score: 93 points
Drink by: 3 to 7 years
Massive wine with concentrated flavors of black cherry and cocoa. Incredibly long finish. Still needs a lot of time.
Posted by factor on March 1, 2005
View all reviews by factor
 
The Real Deal
Score: 97 points
Drink by: 3 to 7 years
Just had this wine following a 94 Beringer PR the week of June 2004. Had recently read on Spectator many people complaining it was closed and disappointing. This wine was full bodied, rich, with the right balance of fruit, oak, and tannin. Perfect finish and very smooth.
This was mother`s milk !!!
Posted by TRGBWD on July 7, 2004
View all reviews by TRGBWD
 
'97 Insignia-
Score: 98 points
Drink by: Now to 2 years
Partook of an awesome steak dinner with friends at Del Frisco`s-Orlando mid-January, `04. Arranged to bring our own wines. Reasonable corkage policy! `97 vintage theme. `97 Pahlmeyer Merlot, `97 Stag`s Leap Wine Cellars SLV & FAY, `97 Dalla Valle Napa, `97 Darioush, `97 Caymus Special Selection, `97 Silver Oak Napa and `97 Insignia. Not a dog on the table! We shared with servers, guests and almost anyone. All agreed that everything was wonderful, but the Insignia was the nicest combination of rich, round, deep, jammy and aromatic. All were approximately "cellar temperature". All were served in seperate glasses. The dishwashers hated us as we were a table of 9 plus "friends". The beauty of the evening was that 2 of us brought `97 Insignia! We got to revisit it with a wonderful Bourbon butter sauce glazed bread pudding. Stunning!! Insignia as a dessert wine?
All chatter aside! I believe `97 Insignia is one of the most well rounded wines to come out of California. The combination of rich fruit, depth, structure, finish and soft tannins are hard to match. The group of us diners agreed that the Insignia "stole the show" from the other wines on the table and made our evening extraordinary! I would never dare to call this an "Everyday Wine", but I would gladly drink this wine everyday!
Tom
Posted by Thomas A. Titzer on April 7, 2004
View all reviews by Thomas A. Titzer
 
Cali Cab with Pizza
Score: 94 points
Drink by: Now to 2 years
Had this wine back on Halloween 2003 with homemade pizza. I did not decant as I was under the influence of el diablo and copius amounts of chocolate. There was indeed a bit of sediment in the bottle so caveat emptor. Nice dark purple color with no fading along the edge. Nose was cherry and blackberry jam. Excellent body with well integrated tannins, fruit, and wood. Finish was moderately long and quite nice. This was served alongside an 89 Pichon Lalande and an aussie fruit bomb and was my favorite of the evening.
Posted by unwired cowboy on January 19, 2004
View all reviews by unwired cowboy
 
Search wine prices for 1997 Phelps, Joseph Insignia Proprietary Red Wine on WineZap
Spider Trap