Wine Ratings & Reviews

2002 Phelps, Joseph Insignia Proprietary Red Wine Proprietary Blend

USA California North Coast Napa

Post your own rating and tasting note on this wine!


Professional Reviews

100 points Robert Parker's Wine Advocate 11/2013
96 points Connoisseurs' Guide, Connoisseur's Guide 12/2005
96 points Wine Spectator 11/2005
95 points Stephen Tanzer's IWC 5/2005

Member Reviews


Phelps, Joseph Insignia Proprietary Red Wine Proprietary Blend 2002
from Insignia Vertical
Mike P.
Mike P.

Rated  on May 24, 2008

Oh, the ohtwo....... yes the ohtwo. This one was a bit closed. But understandable. It has the makings for a long lived wine. Great tannin/acid/fruit meshing happening here. Smooth full mouthfeell. I guess everyone wants to see what the fuss is here. WS Wine of the year and all. Makes me wonder. Don't get me wrong, it is a beautiful wine, but NOT wine of the year.

1 Toast     Toast this Review


Network Reviews

Insignia '02
Score: 93 points
Drink by: 3 to 7 years
Sampled 4/23/11. Dense. Loaded with blackberries, black currant, licorice, some mocha notes and dried herbs. The tannins are still a bit chunky and the wine is in a disjointed phase right now. There is plenty of good things in this wine, but it needs time to come back together. Try again in a couple years, it will get better.
Posted by mxpbuy on April 25, 2011
View all reviews by mxpbuy
 
New Wave Cali done well
Score: 95 points
Drink by: 3 to 7 years
Sampled 12/31/08. Another Chocolate/blueberry/blackberry blend that really seems to have grabbed Cali winemakers since 2000. This one is definitely better than most, but I must admit that I find the style not nearly as interesting as the `85 to `92 style Cali Cabs. There is only so often I can open a bottle of one of these Choco blends, but when I do, they are good. Not sure this wine will last a particularly long time, and I`m not sure it will improve much either. Probably better to drink in the next half dozen than try to stretch it out too long. BR
Posted by mxpbuy on January 4, 2009
View all reviews by mxpbuy
 
My favorite to date
Score: 97 points
Drink by: 3 to 7 years
Opened 6/11/07, if Budweiser is the king of beers than Phelps should be the Sultan of Napa. No better 02`, the nose is sweet while the wine has such a long lingering finish its best consumed without food (in my opinion). Refined, pronounced, this wine is certainly a gem of any cellar collection and will continue to mature for many, many years.
Posted by mike@vegas1.net on June 24, 2007

View all reviews by this member
 
Not my WOTY
Score: 94 points
Drink by: 8 to 12 years
Sampled 2/5/06. Looks like a classic Insignia - deep purple. Nose has more mocha/chocolate than such other exceptional vintages as the `95 and `97. The wine is clearly a complex one with full body and similar to other great Insignia`s in that regard. This particular vintage, however, did not impress me as much as either the `95 or `97. Too much mocha/chocolate, which took away from its more traditional deep heavy and layered fruit with undertones of minerals, spices and touch of Oak. The `02 tastes so much like so many other mid-90s scoring Napa Meritages that I couldn`t get that excited about it as a WOTY, but that does not mean I can deny the outstanding quality of the wine. Although it is reasonably good now, I`d leave it on its side for another 5 years and try it then to see how it is evolving.
Posted by mxpbuy on February 6, 2006
View all reviews by mxpbuy
 
Wine of the Year 2005
Score: 95 points
Drink by: 8 to 12 years
Polished, refined and opulent. Great representation of Cabernet based fruit. Sleek and sexy. Not very singular, but 10000 cases will do that. Approchable now with 15 years to develope.
Posted by anonymous on January 2, 2006
 
#1
Score: 96 points
Drink by: 8 to 12 years
This is a huge wine, with lots of in your face fruit ,and well balanced tannins. Lots of black fruit, with suttle cedar characteristics. Another great wine from this Napa Valley winery. I would be surprised if this didn`t get the 1 wine of the year, WS!
Posted by reckamps@aol.com on November 26, 2005

View all reviews by this member
 
Search wine prices for 2002 Phelps, Joseph Insignia Proprietary Red Wine on WineZap
Spider Trap